Windows Blue Public Milestone Preview coming, get ready to download and test

Last Updated on Sunday, 24 February 2013 01:27 Written by admin Sunday, 24 February 2013 02:55

You’ll be able to start playing around with the first public test release of Windows Blue sooner than you think. Windows codenamed Blue, which is shaping up to be the equivalent of Service Pack 1 (SP1) for Windows 8, although this detail has yet to be confirmed officially by Microsoft, already reached Milestone 1 (M1), with a number of screenshots leaking to the public, confirming the milestone.

It appears that there’s won’t be a Windows Blue M2 release, and that the next testing milestone of Windows Blue will be a public preview. There’s no availability date for Windows Blue Public Milestone Preview so far, but you should be able to download the bits in the next few months.

Following the public MP release, Microsoft will make the final version of Windows Blue available to the public, without going through any other interstitial testing milestones. According to Win8China, Windows Blue will be released to manufacturing sometime by the end of June 2013. This means that Windows Blue RTM will be ready for users in early August.  MSDN and TechNet subscribers will get the first taste of Windows Blue RTM.

As you might have already heard, Windows Blue will come with Internet Explorer 11 (IE11) and serve to up the versioning of the Windows kernel up to 6.3. Chances are that Windows Blue Build 9600 will be the gold version of the next iteration of Windows.


Learn More

Outlook.com Cloud Email Service Preview Is Live

Last Updated on Tuesday, 31 July 2012 10:17 Written by admin Tuesday, 31 July 2012 10:10

Outlook.com is a new take on the email client that you’re probably already familiar with. Microsoft’s saying that with this initial launch of Outlook.com it’s offering customers the chance to try out a personal email service. From Chris Jones:

Modern experience for modern browsers and devices. Email isn’t just about the browser anymore. In fact, email represents 20% of the time we spend on smartphones, and is used extensively on tablets as well as PCs. Outlook is designed cloud first, so all of your mail is always available wherever you are. Its fresh, clean user interface gets the clutter out of your way-the header has 60% fewer pixels and there are 30% more messages visible in your inbox that the webmail most people are used to. And there are no display ads or large search boxes that take up extra space. Outlook.com also uses Exchange ActiveSync, so it powers your mail, calendar and people experience on your smartphone, tablet, and the new Outlook 2013 Preview.

 

 

Connected to friends and co-workers, wherever they are. Over the last several years, social networks have become an incredibly popular place to share and communicate with friends and co-workers. At the same time, email use among people who use social networks actively has continued to increase. We saw an opportunity to make email better by using your connections on social networks to enrich your email experience. And so with the Outlook.com preview, we are giving you the first email service that is connected to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google, and soon, Skype, to bring relevant context and communications to your email.

In the Outlook.com inbox, your personal email comes alive with photos of your friends, recent status updates and Tweets that your friend has shared with you, the ability to chat and video call – all powered by an always up-to-date contact list that is connected to your social networks. And, of course, you are in control of your experience – what you share, the networks you connect to, and your personal information.

 

 

 

Smart and powerful. Today’s inbox is about more than just exchanging mail with the people you know -50% of the email in a typical inbox is newsletters and another 20% is social network updates. This is part of the reason our inboxes are overloaded and we often feel it’s a chore to “do email.” Outlook.com automatically sorts your messages from contacts, newsletters, shipping updates, and social updates, and with our Sweep features you can move, delete and set up powerful rules in a few, simple clicks so you can more quickly get to the email you really want.

People also use email to share photos and work together on documents. So we included free Office Web Apps — Word, PowerPoint, Excel and OneNote – which let you view and edit attachments without leaving your inbox. And Outlook.com comes with SkyDrive, so if you’re sending photos, documents, or just about any other file, you can now put them on SkyDrive and stop worrying about attachment limits.

 

 

Putting you in control. Email is private and confidential, and most folks we’ve talked to want to keep it that way. So we keep your personal email personal. We don’t scan your email content or attachments and sell this information to advertisers or any other company, and we don’t show ads in personal conversations. We let you decide whether to connect your account to social networks, and which ones you want to use – and you’re in control of who you friend or follow. And, if you’re a power user who wants to really fine tune your inbox, we let you create your own categories, folders, and rules to tailor Outlook.com to your preferences.

And of course Outlook.com comes with the features you’d expect from any email service. Building on our past work with Exchange and Hotmail, we provide an inbox with virtually unlimited storage, industry leading spam protection, and rock solid account protection powered by your Microsoft account. Outlook.com also works great with the Outlook desktop application, and as you’d expect from a personal email service, it’s free.

Get Started Today at Outlook.com

While today’s preview is just the start, Outlook.com is ready now to become your primary email service. We’re expecting millions of people to try it out. Starting today, you can get an @Outlook.com email address, and we’ve also made it easy to get started with your current email address if you want to.

  • If you’re a Hotmail customer and want to upgrade to the Outlook.com preview, just click “Upgrade” in the options menu of Hotmail. Your email address, password, contacts, old email, and rules will remain unchanged, and you can send/receive email from your @hotmail.com or @msn.com or @live.com address. You’ll experience it all in the new Outlook.com preview user interface. You can also add an @Outlook.com email address to your account if you want.
  • Using Gmail, Yahoo, or another email service? No problem – it’s easy to try the preview by going to http://www.outlook.com/. If you have a Microsoft account, just log in and get started. If you don’t, it’s easy to create a new account with an @Outlook.com email address. Then you can set up Gmail or your other email service to forward your mail to Outlook.com and import your contacts and messages by following these instructions . This will let you use both services for now, but we think that over time, most people will prefer Outlook.com.
  • Don’t have an email address? Go to Outlook.com and create a new one and you’ll be up and running.

Once you’re using Outlook.com, you can also set it up on your phone (Windows Phone, iPhone, Android, Blackberry, or other phone), tablet (Windows 8, iPad, and Android), in the new Outlook 2013 Preview, or in other mail apps you might use. And because Outlook.com supports Exchange ActiveSync, you can set it up just like you would your Exchange or Hotmail account.  Have more questions? See our step-by- step guide to setting up Outlook.com on your phone.

Join the Preview and Join the Conversation

Today is the start of our preview, which represents an opportunity to learn together as we roll out and scale this new service. We know your email is important and you need a service that puts you in control, and we’re looking forward to your feedback. Once you’re using the service, just click Feedback in the Outlook.com Options menu and let us know what you think. If you have questions about this post, feel free to leave a comment here on our blog, or join us on Reddit later today where we’re hosting an “Ask me anything” at 11am PST. We have a lot more we’ll be sharing on this blog, and we look forward to continuing this conversation with you.

A lot has changed in the last eight years, and we think it’ time for a fresh look at email – modern, connected, smart, powerful, and in control. So try out the preview at Outlook.com. We think you’ll like what you see.


Learn More

Official Windows Store Details from Microsoft

Last Updated on Wednesday, 7 December 2011 01:44 Written by Mire_B Wednesday, 7 December 2011 01:44

Watch the video embedded below, but also make sure to read the first post of the newly launched Windows Store blog. Antoine Leblond, Vice President of Windows Web Services shared the first details about the launch of Windows Store which is synchronized with the availability of the first public Windows 8 Beta in late February 2012.

 

When we set out to build the Windows Store, we wanted to do the best job of connecting people to as many great apps as possible. We realize the challenge of having apps stand out, particularly as app catalogs grow. We thought a lot about ensuring quality, maintaining trust, reducing friction, and enabling choices. We designed for these guideposts. We further established a set of four guiding principles that would inform both the overall design of the Store as well as the partnership that we want to have with developers:

  • Designed for discovery
  • Flexible business models
  • Transparent terms
  • Best economics

We’ll now get into each principle and describe how developers can use these to take help them build great experiences for customers.

Designed for discovery

Ensuring the visibility of apps and the efficiency and fluidity of app discovery became the fundamental building block of our Store design. We use minimal chrome so apps shine through, and complement the apps with a series of way-finding and promotion mechanisms—search, category browse, ranking lists, editorial curation — to help people find great apps.

Store landing page, with Spotlight category containing 5 featured apps, and Games category cut off at right edge of screen, containing several game apps

Windows Store is designed for easy app discovery

We designed the landing page to push compelling apps to the surface. We use categories to help organize the apps—the latest, most popular, and fast rising apps all have dedicated lists surfaced here. You’ll see personalized app recommendations and also topic pages that promote apps related to editorial themes, helping surface what would otherwise be hidden gems.

Navigation is simple and consistent with the model of Windows 8. Built-in search supports directed discovery, fluid panning moves you through the categories, and category filters help locate the most relevant apps.

We know people use the Web to find apps, so the Store app catalog will be indexed by search engines. We also support direct linking to app webpages.

Bing search results for the terms “fashion photography conde nast” include “Conde Nast Collection app for Windows”

Finding an app via web search

Windows Store Preview / Condé Nast Collection / ***** 78 ratings/ Free / View in Windows Store / Developer: Condé Nast / Copyright 2011 / [detailed description of app follows]

Web search result links directly to this app listing page

The web search result will point to a web version of the app listing, which we publish based on the same content provided for the Store app listing. If you are running Windows 8, the page directs you to the Store. If you don’t have Windows 8, the page says the app is available on Windows 8.

Developers can also promote apps from their websites, not just with “available in the Windows Store” logos, but with built-in promotion through Internet Explorer 10. With just a line of markup, your website promotes your app via the app button within the browser, visible to anyone running Internet Explorer 10 on Windows 8.

Evernote web page shown in IE10 browser. App button appears at bottom of page next to address bar, with a tooltip “Get the app”.

When viewing a site using Internet Explorer 10 on Windows 8, an app button appears on sites that have a Metro style app available

The app button on a Windows 8 PC takes you to the app listing in the Store or directly to the app, if it’s installed.

These design choices mean minimal distance between the user and the app listing, which is a developer’s promotional canvas. Below, you can see that ZeptoLab, the developers of the popular game Cut the Rope, can take full advantage of the design of the app listing page to show off the Cut the Rope app that they’ve developed for Windows 8.

Cut the Rope / Store /> Games > Puzzle / ***** Average rating (1023) / $1.49 / Buttons: Buy / Try / Large image and detailed description of the app” width=”562″ height=”316″ border=”0″ /></a></p>
<p align=Metro style apps can support free trials with in-app purchasing


Learn More
Designed by CodenameWindows
WordPress is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.